Duane Allman’s Gravestone Quote

Sometimes inspiration comes in the most unusual ways and from the most unlikely of places. We went to SM CIty in Cebu.

The late, great, Duane AllmanThe wife was looking after the baby, so I wandered into the Power Bookstore. There in the half price section was a book on rock stars grave sites. I was flipping through it, and came across the final resting place of my favorite guitar god, Duane Allman. On his gravestone is the following quote, which came from something he wrote:

“I love being alive and I will be the best man I possibly can. I will take love wherever I find it and offer it to everyone who will take it. . . seek knowledge from those wiser and teach those who wish to learn from me.”

I thought that was a pretty cool philosophy, and garbled it pretty badly when I tried to share it with the wife on the v-hire ride back to Lapu-Lapu City. She liked the garbled version, but I knew that the real quote was much better. So I had to run off to the Internet cafe, look it up, and share it with the rest of the world.

4 thoughts on “Duane Allman’s Gravestone Quote

  1. thank you for your effort. I miss everything that his music touched in me.Miss him ever since I heard. Feel blessed to have seen him and carry that feeling still. What a gift his music was and is. Funny that he is gone now so is my youth yet still I can hear him playing and in that there is timeless joy!

  2. duane was the greatestslideplayer ever the founder o f the band .they wrote the song freebird when they met duane skydog allman. i named my son after him nobody to this day can play with such soul and ferocity. by the way wheres his grave georgia

Leave a Reply

